Housing Conference

Respond Housing Association hosted a National Housing Conference on September 20th / 21st 2012 in the Maldron Hotel, Tallaght, Dublin 24.
The title of the Conference was “Does Ireland need a National Housing Plan? Of course it does!”

Over the two days, conference speakers and delegates looked at the following:

  • How necessary is a comprehensive National Housing Plan?
  • What are the essential components of a National Housing Plan?
  • How would it respond to social housing need?
  • Ingredients towards sustainable housing estates
  • What linkages can be forged between the private, the State and the not-for-profit sectors?
  • Regeneration and getting it “right” from the start
  • Community empowerment through education
  • Mental health concerns on social housing estates
  • Celebrating life and best practice on a social housing estate

Speakers at the event included the following:

  • Joe Duffy (Radio Broadcaster)
  • Prof Tony Fahey (UCD School of Applied Social Services)
  • Gerry Sheeran (former President, Irish Planning Institute)
  • Aidan Culhane (Special Advisor, Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government)
  • Fr Seán Healy (Social Justice Ireland)
  • Prof Paddy Gray (University of Ulster)
  • Prof Loretta Lees (King’s College, London)
  • Fr Peter McVerry (Peter McVerry Trust)
  • Oliver O’ Loughhlin (Limerick City Council)
  • Evelyn Hanlon (Dublin City Council)
  • Dr Padraic Kenna (NUIG)
  • Kieran Harte (DAFT.ie)
  • Dr Marie Griffin (County Dublin VEC)
  • Dr Sineád McNally
  • Marian Quinn (CDI Projects)
  • Kieran Swords
  • Dr Kieran McKeown
  • Fr Pat Cogan (CEO, Respond Housing Asssociation)
  • Eleanor McClory (Young Ballymun)

A copy of speaker’s presentations is available below:
Prof Tony Fahey – Powerpoint (University College Dublin)
Prof Tony Fahey – University College Dublin)
Gerry Sheeran (formerly Irish Planning Institute)
Dr Pádraic Kenna – NUI Galway
Oliver O’ Loughlin (Limerick CC)
Pat Cogan – Powerpoint (Respond Housing Association)
Pat Cogan (Respond Housing Association)
Evelyn Hanlon (Dublin City Council)
Marian Quinn (CDI Projects)
Dr Kieran McKeown
Dr Sinéad McNally – CDI
Dr Marie Griffin – County Dublin VEC